Navigation Inhalt
MixcloudMixcloud

BERLIN:FM (en)

< BACK
Mon. 03.10. Tue. 04.10. Wed. 05.10. Thu. 06.10. Fri. 07.10. Fri. 07.10. Sat. 08.10. Sat. 08.10. Sun. 09.10. Mon. 10.10. Wed. 12.10. Thu. 13.10. Fri. 14.10. Fri. 14.10. Fri. 14.10. Sat. 15.10. Sun. 16.10. Mon. 17.10. Tue. 18.10. Thu. 20.10. Fri. 21.10. Fri. 21.10. Sat. 22.10. Sun. 23.10. Mon. 24.10. Tue. 25.10. Wed. 26.10. Thu. 27.10. Fri. 28.10. Fri. 28.10. Sat. 29.10. Sat. 29.10. Sun. 30.10. Mon. 31.10. Mon. 31.10. Tue. 01.11. Wed. 02.11. Thu. 03.11. Sat. 05.11. Sun. 06.11. Mon. 07.11. Wed. 09.11. Thu. 10.11. Fri. 11.11. Fri. 11.11. Sat. 12.11. Sat. 12.11. Sun. 13.11. Mon. 14.11. Tue. 15.11. Wed. 16.11. Thu. 17.11. Fri. 18.11. Fri. 18.11. Tue. 22.11. Thu. 24.11. Fri. 25.11. Sat. 26.11. Wed. 30.11. Fri. 02.12. Fri. 09.12. Sat. 10.12. Wed. 14.12. Fri. 16.12. Wed. 21.12. Fri. 27.01. Wed. 01.02. Fri. 10.02. Fri. 10.02. Tue. 14.02. Fri. 17.02. Fri. 03.03. Thu. 16.03. Sun. 26.03. Thu. 30.03. Tue. 11.04. Sun. 23.04. Tue. 25.04. Wed. 26.04. Thu. 04.05.
Jazz
Thu. 10.11.2022 19.30 h

THEO CROKER - LOVE QUANTUM

THEO CROKER - LOVE QUANTUM

BOX1

Theo Croker (Okeh Rec./ Sony Masterworks/US) *live*

Doors: 19.30h
Show: 20.30h

Minimum age: 16

*Presale 20 € plus fee * Box Office 25 €*


Jazz between tradition and modernity.

Theo Croker is a Grammy-nominated U.S. trumpeter, composer and producer dedicated to exploring the historical and musical commonalities of gospel, blues, jazz, soul and funk, and is relentless in his quest to transform these genres into a new, contemporary sound.

After "BLK2LIFE II A Future Past" from 2021, the second part of his musical reappraisal of the origin, present and future of Black Music Culture in the USA, "Love Quantum", was released in June. Theo Croker thus places himself at the forefront of a young generation of musicians on the African-American jazz scene who are taking a fresh look at the musical heritage and formative cultural achievements of their predecessors, reappraising their contribution to U.S. musical development in a historically self-confident manner, and leaving traditional genre boundaries behind.

For Croker, all these different genres he deals with are connected on a meta-level in the creative power of love, which allows new worlds of experience and realities to be created against all odds. Following this concept, he has invited top-class musical guests to the production of his album. Among them rap legend Wyclef Jean, Jill Scott, the soul and R'n'B singers Ego Ella May and Teedra Moses, singer Kassa Overall as well as representatives of the current jazz scene such as guitarist James Tillman or saxophonist Gary Bartz.

The first single "Jazz is Dead" is on the one hand an ode to Croker's love for the forms and styles of jazz, on the other hand a stirring commentary on the inadequacy of a word to capture the depth of this musical tradition. The lyrics to the song "To Be We" were written by neo-soul singer Jill Scott. Theo Croker reserves trumpet as his main instrument, but also plays keyboards, raps or programs the drums on "Love Quantum."


tickets.de 22,00 online-ticket / print@home
koka36 22,00 Pick-Up or mail delivery

Navigation Inhalt
MixcloudMixcloud

BERLIN:FM

< BACK
Fr. 19.08. Sa. 20.08. So. 21.08. Di. 23.08. Mi. 24.08. Do. 25.08. Fr. 26.08. Sa. 27.08. Mo. 29.08. Di. 30.08. Mi. 31.08. Do. 01.09. Fr. 02.09. Sa. 03.09. Mo. 05.09. Di. 06.09. Mi. 07.09. Do. 08.09. Fr. 09.09. Sa. 10.09. Sa. 10.09. So. 11.09. Do. 15.09. Fr. 16.09. Fr. 16.09. Sa. 17.09. So. 18.09. Di. 20.09. Mi. 21.09. Do. 22.09. Fr. 23.09. Sa. 24.09. So. 25.09. So. 25.09. Mo. 26.09. Di. 27.09. Mi. 28.09. Do. 29.09. Fr. 30.09. Sa. 01.10. So. 02.10. Di. 04.10. Do. 06.10. Fr. 07.10. Fr. 07.10. So. 09.10. Mo. 10.10. Mi. 12.10. Do. 13.10. Fr. 14.10. Mo. 17.10. Di. 18.10. Do. 20.10. Fr. 21.10. Fr. 21.10. Sa. 22.10. So. 23.10. Mo. 24.10. Di. 25.10. Mi. 26.10. Do. 27.10. Fr. 28.10. So. 30.10. Mo. 31.10. Mo. 31.10. Mi. 02.11. Do. 03.11. So. 06.11. Do. 10.11. Fr. 11.11. Sa. 12.11. Sa. 12.11. So. 13.11. Do. 17.11. Fr. 18.11. Fr. 18.11. Do. 24.11. Fr. 25.11. Fr. 02.12. Sa. 10.12. Fr. 16.12. Mi. 21.12. Mi. 01.02. Fr. 10.02. Di. 14.02. Fr. 03.03. Do. 16.03. So. 26.03. Do. 30.03. Di. 11.04. Di. 25.04. Mi. 26.04.
Jazz
Do. 10.11.2022 19.30 h

THEO CROKER - LOVE QUANTUM

THEO CROKER - LOVE QUANTUM

BOX1

Theo Croker (Okeh Rec./ Sony Masterworks/US) *live*

Doors: 19.30h
Show: 20.30h

Minimum age: 16

*Presale 20 € plus fee * Box Office 25 €*


Hypnotische Jazz-Kompositionen zwischen Tradition und Moderne.

Theo Croker ist ein Grammy nominierter US-amerikanischer Trompeter, Komponist und Produzent und hat sich der Erforschung der historischen und musikalischen Gemeinsamkeiten von Gospel, Blues, Jazz, Soul und Funk verschrieben und ist unablässig dabei, diese Genres in einen neuen, aktuellen Sound zu überführen.

Nach „BLK2LIFE II A Future Past“ aus dem Jahr 2021 ist mit „Love Quantum“ im Juni der zweite Teil seiner musikalischen Aufarbeitung der Herkunft, Gegenwart und Zukunft der Black Music Culture in den USA erschienen. Theo Croker stellt sich damit an die Spitze einer jungen Generation von Musiker*Innen der afro-amerikanischen Jazz-Szene, die das musikalische Erbe und die prägenden kulturellen Leistungen ihrer Vorgänger neu beleuchtet, deren Beitrag für die US-amerikanische Musikentwicklung historisch selbstbewusst aufarbeitet und dabei traditionelle Genre-Grenzen hinter sich lässt.

Für Croker sind all diese verschiedenen Genres mit denen er sich beschäftigt auf einer Metaebene in der schöpferischen Kraft der Liebe verbunden, die es erlaubt, gegen alle Widerstände neue Erfahrungswelten und Realitäten zu kreieren. Diesem Konzept folgend hat er hochkarätige musikalische Gäste zur Produktion seines Albums eingeladen. Darunter Rap-Legende Wyclef Jean, Jill Scott, die Soul- und R’n’B Sängerinnen Ego Ella May und Teedra Moses, Sänger Kassa Overall sowie Vertreter*Innen der aktuellen Jazz-Szene wie Gitarrist James Tillman oder Saxophonist Gary Bartz.

Die erste Single „Jazz is Dead“ ist einerseits eine Ode an Crokers Liebe zu den Formen und Stilen des Jazz, andererseits ein aufrüttelnder Kommentar über die Unzulänglichkeit eines Wortes, die Tiefe dieser Musiktradition zu erfassen. Den Text zum Song „To Be We“ hat Neo-Soul Sängerin Jill Scott geschrieben.

Theo Croker behält sich als Hauptinstrument die Trompete vor, spielt auf „Love Quantum“ aber auch Keyboards, rappt oder programmiert die Drums. Warum? Weil er es kann. Heute bei uns. Wird super.

Photo: Obidigbo Nzeribe


tickets.de 22,00 Online-Ticket / print@home
koka36 22,00 Selbstabholung oder Postversand